2000-2001 Carrollton High School Girls’ Team

Year Inducted: 2013

Category: Teams

Schools / Organizations: Carrollton High School

Biography: The 2001 IHSA Class A State Champions capped an outstanding season for the Lady Hawks.  The Lady Hawks lost during the regular season to fellow Elite Eight team, Nashville, for the only blemish on the season slade.  After overcoming several tough, upset-minded teams in the IHSA Regional and Sectional, the game of that year occurred in the IHSA Super-sectional as the Lady Hawks faced the Lady Cougars of Breese Central High School.  These were the top two teams in the state in Class A.  After a 45-40 victory, Carrollton was off to the state finals.  A quarterfinal match-up with the Monmouth Zippers was met with a 63-37 victory.  In the semi-finals, the Stockton Blackhawks were waiting.  Again, the challenge was met with a 59-37 victory.  The championship game featured perennial power Teutopolis Wooden Shoes.  In the end, the Lady Hawks were victorious by a 49-35 score.  This win gave Carrollton their first state championship.  The season also included their 12th consecutive Western Illinois Valley Conference title and victories in the Olney, Beardstown, and Carrollton tournaments.  The Lady Hawks were led by Hall of Fame Coaches Lori Blade (2016 Coach inductee) and Donna Farley (2017 Career Coach inductee).  This team demonstrated all of the qualities to become one of the finest Class A teams in IHSA history.

Team Members in the Picture:

Back row (L to R):  Coach Lori Blade; Manager Elissa Graham (Settles); #10 Dana Gratford (Carter); #35 Emily Barry (Pohlman);  #34 Amber Allan (Shelton); #21 Alicia DeShasier; #22 Justine Ellerman (Tucker); #32 Lauren Steckel; #42 Nicole Ruyle (Meyer); and Coach Donna Farley.

Front Row (L to R): Manager Courtney Symes; #30 Kara Short (Gilligham); #24 Laura Longnecker (Moss); #40 Kaci Weller (Graham); #20 Karen Bowman (Brannan); #44 Katie Steinacher (Nolan); and #12 Molley Session( Reed).