2001-2002 College of DuPage Men’s Team

Year Inducted: 2012

Category: Teams

Schools / Organizations: College of DuPage

Biography: The College of DuPage made basketball history when the Chaparrals became the first program in NJCAA history to win national championships in both men’s and women’s basketball in the same season.  The men, who were seeded 8th, defeated the host school, Dehli (NY) in the opener and defeated Sullivan (NY) in the finals for the school’s first men’s national title.  They completed the 2001-2002 season with a 24-10 record overall.  This was Head Coach Don Klaas’s first national title in four trips to the final eight.

Team Members in the Picture:

Front Row (L to R):  Head Coach Don Klaas, Assistant Coach Matt Nadelhoffer, Ares Collins, Cory Larde, Robert Hoskins, Ben Curtis, Assistant Coach Charles Jurkus, and Assistant Coach Scott Wager.

Back Row (L to R):  Kevin Jenkins, Ryan Dowell, Andrew Browning, Erik Van Der Stuyf, Joe Tabisz, Taliaferro Roots, Bryan Ray, Stephen Davis, and Manager Anthony Materazzo.