1954-55 Rockford West High School Boys’ Team

Year Inducted: 1982

Category: Teams

Schools / Organizations: Rockford West High School

Biography: West Rockford, coached by the crafty Alex Saudargas (IBCA Hall of Famer-1973), won their first of back-to-back state titles in 1955.  This great ball club was one of the first “big” teams to with the state title, led by their front line of Gentry and Wessells.  Although Nolden Gentry and John Wessells led the Warriors, they were backed by a great trio of Fred Boshelo, Rodney Coffman, and Rex Parker.  The team’s final record was 28-1.

Team Members in the Picture:

Back Row (L to R): Bobby Washington, Ray Morgan, Sam Black, Don Slaughter, Rod Coffman, Sam Patton, and Warren Johnson.

Front Row (L to R): Rex Parker, John Wessells, Don Grabow, Fred Boshela, Nolden Gentry, Tom Olson, Dave McClelland, and Joe Digiovanni.