1997-98 Nokomis High School Girls’ Team

Year Inducted: 2012

Category: Teams

Schools / Organizations: Nokomis High School

Biography: The Lady Redskins continued their 30-game win streak through the state championship as they beat the number one rated team in the state, Carthage High School by a score of 70-60.  The team was led by Molly McDowell who was named to the first team all-tournament squad and was also a 1st team all-state selection by the IBCA.  This squad brought the first state championship in any sport to the town.  Coach Maury Hough was named the IBCA Class A Coach of the Year.  Molly broke the record for individual scoring at the state tournament with a 3-game total of 87 points.  She also set a state title game record with 35 points.  Nokomis defeated a taller (South Holland) Seton Academy team in the quarter final game by a 64-38 score.  The team set a single game state tournament record with 11 3-point shots made.  In the semi-final game, they defeated 4th ranked (Sterling) Newman High School by a 68-47 score.  After the title game win, the ladies finished the season with a 33-2 record.  Sadly, Coach Hough was not able to enjoy the 2012 Hall of Fame induction as he lost his battle with cancer in 2004.

Team Members in the Picture:

Front Row (L-R):  Tisha Morris, Lora Ruppert, Amy Braye, Andrea Probst, Va’ Nicia Waterman, Emily Heck, Corinne Hadley and Jaynen Kates.

Back Row (L-R):  Coach Rachelle McDowell, Jana Spears, Rachelle Detmers, Bonnie Brownback, Amy Prater, Molly McDowell, Carrie Eisenbarth, Crystal Hayes, Ashlee Keller, Jess Hough, Misty Johnson, Cassie Engelhart, Coach Maury Hough.