Year Inducted: 1985

Category: Teams

Schools / Organizations: (Chicago) Marshall High School

Biography: The (Chicago) Marshall High School Basketball Teams of 1939-1944 set a national record of 98 consecutive wins.  In addition, they won 4 city championships.  The Marshall Teams were in the Chicago Junior League where all players had to be 5’8” or under.  They were coached by Hall of Fame Coach, Lou Weintraub.  Coach Weintraub was able to bring out the best in his players both athletically and academically.  His philosophy was, “If you have the ability—use it.”  These teams have also been inducted into the National Basketball Hall of Fame.

Team Members in the Picture:

Front Row (L to R):  Morry Kaplan, Irving Mazur, Tom Shapiro, Donald Trachman.

Middle Row (L to R):  Marvin Feinberg, Tito Peorini, Morry Schwartz, Alex Eisenstein, Coach Lou Weintraub, Isreal Acker, Seymour Bentcover, Martin Tuchow.

Back Row (L to R):  Milton Wagner, Julian Davis, Irving Ellis Edward Chaiken, Hillel Levin, Bernard Goldberg, David Rosen, Arnold Greenstein, Edward Weisman, Abe Weisberg.