1942-43 (Chicago) Marshall High School Boys’ Junior Team

Year Inducted: 1985

Category: Teams

Schools / Organizations: (Chicago) Marshall High School

Biography: The (Chicago) Marshall High School Basketball Teams of 1939-1944 set a national record of 98 consecutive wins.  In addition, they won 4 city championships.  The Marshall Teams were in the Chicago Junior League where all players had to be 5’8” or under.  They were coached by Hall of Fame Coach, Lou Weintraub.  Coach Weintraub was able to bring out the best in his players both athletically and academically.  His philosophy was, “If you have the ability—use it.”  These teams have also been inducted into the National Basketball Hall of Fame.

Team Members in the Picture:

Front Row (L to R):  Julian Davis, Arnold Greenstein, and Jack Brazier.

2nd Row (L to R):  Irving Mazur, Hyman Tadelman, Sidney Zomlefer, Morry Kaplan, David Leviton, and Charles Swibel.

3rd Row (L to R):  Coach Lou Weintraub, Hillel Levin, Charles Kaplan, Irving Hartman, Morry Lenhoff, and Abe Weisberg.

Back Row (L to R):  Orville Shane, Jerry Shuman, Raymond Lowy, Marvin Shuffeldt, Sideny Swibel, and Leon Herzog.