2007-2008 (Chicago) Marshall High School Boys’ Team

Year Inducted: 2020

Category: Teams

Schools / Organizations: (Chicago) Marshall High School

Biography: The 2007-08 (Chicago) Marshall Commandos went into the post season with an impressive 24-4 record and a regular season that ended with a Chicago Public School Tournament championship. The Commandos began the post season by hosting and winning the IHSA 3A regional tournament. They also captured the Riverside-Brookfield Sectional, and moved on to the Super-Sectional where they scored an 84-54 win over North Chicago High School, giving them a berth in the first-ever 4-class IHSA state tournament in Peoria. In the final four, the Commandos overcame a 30-29 halftime deficit as they scored a 63-57 win over Washington High School. In the championship game, the Commandos put four players into double figures, becoming the state’s first ever IHSA Class 3-A champions as they topped their cross-town rival and defending state champion (Chicago) Simeon High School 69-61.  It was the third state championship for the boys’ program at Marshall but their first since the 1960 season.

Team Members in the Picture:

Back Row (L to R): Davaris Davis, Ervin Thomas, Vincent Garrett, Dorian Tyler, Eriq Harris, Jeron Lee and Darrin Harris.

Second Row (L to R): Asst. Coach Danny Little, Asst. Coach Albert Sharpe, Asst. Coach Henry Cotton, Head Coach Courtney Hargrays, Asst. Coach Shawn Harrington, Asst. Coach Tyrone Hayes and Assistant Coach Gerald Richardson.

Front Row (L to R):  Stedman Bardney, Ardarrius Simmons, Ryan Hare, Samuel Thorton, Montrice McKnight, Dion Stamps and Darius Smith.