1990-91 Pittsfield High School Boy’s Team

Year Inducted: 2000

Category: Teams

Schools / Organizations: Pittsfield High School

Biography: Pittsfield came out of the 1990-91 regular season unranked but left Champaign with one of the most dominant Class A postseason performances to finish a championship season 28-6. Dave Bennett’s Saukees won the super-sectional and three Elite Eight games by an average of more than 14 points and the closest margin was in the championship where they pulled away from a 1-point lead after three quarters to beat Seneca 45-35. Two-time all-stater Tony Baker had 15 points and 14 rebounds in the title game and averaged 18.8 points en route to all-tournament honors. Pittsfield’s first state trophy in four tries also featured a stifling 42-25 semifinal win over Williamsville.

Team Members in the Picture:

Back Row (L to R): Assistant Coach Bruce Everetts, Assistant Coach Steve Rylander, Jaime Sweeting, David Fox, Tony Baker, David Marable, Troy Taylor, Jason Smithers and Head Coach David Bennett.

Front Row (L to R):  Jon Borrowman, Mike Capps, Keith Griffeth, Doug Wade, Josh Townley, Brian Feezel, Gregg Scott, Rob Lemons, Ryan Nevius, Jason Thompson and David Ballinger.