1979-80 North Park College Men’s Team

Year Inducted: 1987

Category: Teams

Schools / Organizations: North Park College

Biography: In 1980, North Park College joined UCLA as the only schools to win three successive NCAA basketball championships as the Vikings beat Upsala College (NJ) 83-76 to win their third NCAA Division III crown.  Mike Harper garnered his 3rd straight CCIW MVP award and was named the Division III Player of the Year.  Guards Modzel Greer and Mike Thomas were named to the 2nd team All-American player list.  Thomas was named as MVP of the NCAA championship finals.

Team Members in the Picture:

Back Row (L to R): Coach Dan McCarrell, Tim Naughton, trainer; John Wojkyla, mgr; and Asst Coach Bosko Djurickovic.

Middle row (L to R):  Jeff Johnson, Jim Schultz, Jim Sabal, Scott Groot, George Touras, Troy Claveran, and Tim Gustafson.

Front Row (L to R):   Bill Murphy, Keith French, Jim Clausen, Mike Harper, Modzel Greer, Mike Thomas, Grant Grastorf, and Gregg Gierke.