2008-2009 (Peoria) Richwoods Girls’ Team

Year Inducted: 2015

Category: Teams

Schools / Organizations: (Peoria) Richwoods High School

Biography: The 2008-09 Richwoods Lady Knights rolled through the 2008-09 season with a 34-3 record, capturing the Illinois High School’s 3A Girls Championship.  Like the 2004-05 team, they also were champions of the Mid-State 6 Conference. They were also Sterling Tournament Champions and Champions of the State Farm Classic.  They won the Regional as well as a Sectional Championships.  In the round of the Elite 8, they scored a 56-47 win over Hillcrest.  In the semi-final round, they defeated Marshall 50-35, then won the championship game convincingly, downing Freeport 56-19.

Team Members in the Picture:

Front row (L to R):   Katie Murphy, Danielle Des Jardins, Amber Metzger and Sarah Murray.

Second row (L to R): Karissa London, Katie Behm, Cryshawn Johnson, Shyla Nott, Maddie Nieukirk, Kelli Dunne, Chelsea Newton and Maggie Cunningham.

Back row (L to R): Coach Hursey, Coach Baker, Coach Gross, Kiana Thomas, Lily Voelker, Mariah Smith, Susan Lynd, Lindsay Newton, Coach Gallo, Coach Muzzarelli and Russ Wittmer.