1990-91 Danville Area Community College Men’s Team

Year Inducted: 2001

Category: Teams

Schools / Organizations: Danville Area Community College

Biography: The 1990-91 Danville Area Community College team accomplished several feats no one in the history of Illinois community college basketball had accomplished en route to an NJCAA Division II national championship. They beat perennial power Southeastern Community College of Burlington, Iowa, Vincennes University (Indiana) and Wabash Valley (Mount Carmel, Illinois) twice. The Jaguars overpowered 30-0 and top-ranked Kankakee Community College by 18 points. Those were NJCAA Division I programs and Danville had moved to NJCAA Division II status. Danville then won its first Region XXiV Division II title over Spoon River College. The Jaguars’ work wasn’t done as they beat Meramec (St. Louis), Prince George and Brookhaven (Texas) to claim the NJCAA Division II title and finish 22-13. No team in NJCAA Division II basketball history had beat the No. 1 Division I team in Kankakee, Vincennes, Southeastern Iowa, Wabash Valley, Olney (Illinois) twice, Lincoln College twice and Lake Land College. The 13 losses were to Division I junior colleges.

Team Members in the Picture:

Back Row (left to right): Head Coach John Spezia, Brian Walker, Chuck Laster, Bill Yeakel, Jock Burns, Matt Kattman, Matt Sisley, George Habenicht, Ty Harweger and Steven Gurnell.

Front Row (left to right): Manager Jonathan Prather, Craig Devault, Scott Sanford, Claudius Garland, Kevin Johnson, Kevin Carlton, Kevin Whiteman, Doug Durham, Sam Creekmore and Assistant Coach Nathan Howie.