2008-2009 (Chicago) Whitney Young High School Boys’ Team

Year Inducted: 2021

Category: Teams

Schools / Organizations: (Chicago) Whitney Young High School

Biography: The 2008-2009 Whitney Young team was spectacular on and off the court.  Head Coach Tyrone Slaughter’s deep roster featured a bevy of players who would play collegiately at the Division I level.  They included Chris Colvin (Iowa State University), Ahmad Starks (Oregon State University), Anthony Johnson (Purdue University), Sam Thompson (Ohio State University), and Marcus Jordan (Central Florida University).  [Note that Marcus is the son Michael Jordan of NBA fame.]

The Dolphins rallied to edge (Harvey) Thornton High School in the IHSA Semi-finals by a score of 59-54.  Jordan’s 4 free throws in the final 26 seconds sealed a 69-66 state championship for the Chicago school.


Picture ID not available: