1981-82 Lawrenceville High School Boy’s Team

Year Inducted: 1987

Category: Teams

Schools / Organizations: Lawrenceville High School

Biography: The Lawrenceville teams of 1982 and 1983, coached by Hall of Fame Coach (1982 inductee), have the distinction of being the first team in Illinois history to win 2 consecutive IHSA State Championships while staying undefeated.  These two teams combined record of 68-0 also set a state record for most consecutive wins (each squad finished at 34-0).  The 1982 team was led by all-state players Doug Novsek (HOF inductee in 1994) and Marty Simmons (HOF inductee in 1994).  Both plyers averaged 25 ppg.  The 1983 team was led by all-state player and Illinois Mr. Basketball, Marty Simmons.

Team Members in the Picture:

Back Row (L to R): Jay Baker, Darin Blair, Brian Nead, Keith Frohock, Dave Parker, Doug Novsek, Marty Simmons, Tim Leighty, Ernie Hoh, Brian Cochran, Bill Anthony, and Jeff Gher.

Front Row (L to R):  Dr. Bob Kirkwood, Tim Seitzinger, Mgr; Asst. Coach Georg Grubbs, Head Coach Ron Felling, Asst. Coach Rick Herdes; and Mark Simmons.