1980-81 Quincy High School Boys’ Team

Year Inducted: 1985

Category: Teams

Schools / Organizations: Quincy High School

Biography: Often called “one of the Best Illinois High School Teams Ever,” the 1981 Quincy Blue Devils finished with a perfect 33-0 record as they won the 1981 IHSA State Championship.  This was their first title since 1934.  The squad was led by All-American players Michael Payne and Bruce Douglas.  They won their own Quincy Invitational tourney, their second of five straight Pontiac Holiday titles, and their fifth of seven straight Western Big 6 Conference Championships.  They were declared National High School Champions of the United States by Basketball Weekly, ESPN, and The National Sports Services.  The Blue Devils were only the second Illinois high school team to be named national champs.  This team’s 33 wins contributed to the 64 straight victories that Coach Leggett’s team established the next season as the Class AA win streak state standard.

Team Members in the Picture:

Back Row (L to R): Mgr. Kyle Cookson, Mgr. Jim Powell, Brad Schrader, Mark Kaufman, Mark Sparrow, Terrell Hickman, John Lepper, Tim Huseman, Phil Hoffman, Shane Barnes, Joel Meyers, Dave Sandercock, Mgr. Steve Brace.  Missing is Mark Foley.

Front Row (L to R): Coach Jerry Leggett, Scott Allen, Dennis Douglas, Michael Payne, Bruce Douglas, Richie Hawkins, and Coach Mike Hellenthal.