1957-58 (Chicago) Marshall High School Boys’ Team

Year Inducted: 1973

Category: Teams

Schools / Organizations: (Chicago) Marshall High School

Biography: The Commandoes from Marshall finished undefeated at 32-0 and were the first team from the City of Chicago to win the state championship.  This 1958 Marshall team is still considered as one of the finest teams ever to come from the city of Chicago.

Team Members in the Picture:

Kneeling (L-R):  Bob Jones, Jim Jones, Steve Thomas, Tyrone Johnson, George Wilson

Standing (L-R):  Coach Spin Salario, M.C. Thompson, Lonnie Elliot, Robert Smith, Ronald Banks

Behind Coach Salario:  All Willis, Executive Secretary of IHSA

Behind Banks:  Paul Brown